Funny story

Well it’s not really even funny, certainly wasn’t at the time, but in retrospect I find it amusing.

Yesterday (Monday) I was quite ill. Sunday I had a bit of a stomachache but nothing to write home about. I woke up in the middle of the night with a monstrous headache and although I forced some drugs down it was stll lurking in the morning. So the combination of stomach/head lead me to feel a bit unwell. I thought it’d get better though so I still went to teaching. I got through the first few students no worries but during my last student of the morning I was ready to bail, so I did. I went home and had a little sleepy. The only thing was I had to accompany someone at an Eisteddford. We’d been practicing this piece for weeks, etc. so I couldn’t really bail on it. I woke up and drove there, feeling pretty sorry for myself. Went in, etc. etc. Was up on stage tuning up and thought, ‘I don’t think I can get through this piece without throwing up all over the keys.’ So I quickly ran outside, just made it out the door and vomited in the bushes. Came back in and they were like, ‘do you want to do it a bit later in the program?’ But you know how you feel good after a munt? That’s how I was feeling! So I was like, ‘let’s do it! Yeah!’ So we did. Then I went home and back to bed. Funny, eh? Hmm…..

Anyway, as I mentioned in my previous post, I moved house recently. Well, it’s more like moving bedroom, not really the whole house. But the point of my story is I hired a moving van to aid me in shifting my stuff. I usually just hire a trailer and do it like that but my new car doesn’t have a towbar.

I think I’ll rewind a bit. So as I mentioned in my previous post, I killed Rita. Here is me and her on our last day together:

Here is my new car. It doesn’t have a towbar, because it’s just a small little fun-size violet crumble:

Incidentally, would someone be able to show this picture of my new car to Matt Kenneally and ask him what colour it is? Thanks.

So I decided to hire a moving van from Thrifty which didn’t cost that much and was supposed to make life a lot easier and it DID… So that was good.

As I was driving to pick up the van it was ‘peak-hour traffic’. Whenever I say ‘peak-hour’ or ‘traffic’ in relation to Perth it’s always in inverted commas. These fools don’t know how good they have it. But the point is there was a few more cars than usual on the road. So I was getting cut off and bullied a bit. I got to the depot. The maximum size vehicle you can drive on a normal license is three tonne. The truck I hired was three tonne. This is said truck:

(click pic for link to larger version)

Definitely big enough to get the job done and boy did I feel like a king on the road on the way back. Get outta my way you yuppy Mum in your 4 wheel drive or I’ll squash you and all your kids! Mu ha ha ha ha! Nah it wasn’t evil. I was just whooping with joy.

Talk to yous all later, eh?

~ by Hooly on August 25, 2009.

10 Responses to “Funny story”

  1. Gold!

  2. What’s the name of your new car? ‘Violet’ is too obvious, but it’s not bad.

    I am glad you’ve started up your blog again, it’ll be a great way for you to share your travelling adventures w/ us!

  3. The new car doesn’t have a name, I just refer to it as a ‘violet crumble’, after the popular Australian confectionery bar’s purple packaging:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Violet_Crumble

  4. YUM!!!

  5. Great blog, Jules. I laughed out loud when I read “supposed to make life a lot easier and it DID… So that was good.” ha ha! Aaaah, golden.

  6. Call her Douglas. Because a purple car would be a cross-dresser in real life…

  7. Hey man, I finally figured you have updated your blog. 4 days late, and already I’ve missed the boat, apparently. Anyway, I hired a three tonne when I “moved bedrooms”, and I used to to grab some shit from my parent’s house in Geelong, Shoubra, Ed’s house on Miller street in East Brunswick, and some other places too. I have to say, it really does feel like you are a king on the road. They’ve got quite a bit of pick-up too, (although my truck was Budget, it’s probably the same model of truck). I got harassed and bullyed in Melbourne peak hour, but I barely paid attention for two reasons: 1. Ed was with me and we’d just give shit right back to which ever c*nt thought he’d f*ck with us and 2, my vehicle was at least 4 times bigger and heavier than anything else out there, and it was really hard to be intimidated.

    I LOVE that feeling after you’ve had a good puke. And you’re like “hang on… I’m ok… I’m OK! Yay!” and then in the next half and hour it sort of comes back. There’s only two times that having a good puke did NOT make me feel a little better, once when I got food poisoning from all those fish and chips we ate, (rest assured I’d be fine eating that now, with the amount of past-the-use-by-date stuff that I eat), and secondly, when I had alcohol poisoning. That sucked. Maybe I’ll do a short blog about those things.

    Anyway man, as you can probably tell I’m heartened that you’ve restarted your blog. Well done.

    PS- If you move to the country to make furniture, I will burn said furniture. Come to Melbourne, it’s awesome!

  8. James, your Gravatar thing makes me sad, because I know you’re sad about your literal ‘sideburn’ 😦

    Jon, I’m glad the truck went as well for you as it did for me. Melbourne peak hour would’ve been a nightmare in that behemoth. I didn’t get bullied at all once I was in the truck, only when I was in my little car. Don’t burn my furniture. I’ll give you a nice little table or something.

  9. I don’t want a table. I want my friend, Julian. You.

  10. can i just say jules that i reciprocate those feelings of driving in a truck. Being someone who holds a Light Rigid License its all good and well driving 22 seater buses and that but when you can drive a truck of some sort no matter how big it immediately makes you feel indestructable. I have driven a truck slightly bigger and it is the bomb! you rock jules!!!!

    p.s. i immensely appreciated your comment… “Get outta my way you yuppy Mum in your 4 wheel drive or I’ll squash you and all your kids! Mu ha ha ha ha!” i laughed out loud.. was rather amusing. the end.

Leave a Reply

 
