The Peace of Wild Things

I came across this poem recently which I quite like and identified with, so I thought I’d share it with y’all.

When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting with their light. For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.

— Wendell Berry

~ by Hooly on April 18, 2009.

12 Responses to “The Peace of Wild Things”

  1. Yes indeed, fine words. Wendell Berry, from what I hear, is a bit of a dude. My brother in law loves him. He’s got some great books out there about how we are all locked into this system of exploiting the earth in really damaging, irreversible ways.

    Thanks for the post.

  2. Well, Julian, thankyou, this has restored my fickle opinions on poetry, or prose, rather. I tried to read some after my happy experience with the live poetry reading thing I blogged about, and it was a kind of negative experience. But this, my friend, hit the spot. Well done.

  3. Thankyou, gentlemen.

    Wendell Berry is indeed a dude, Adam. I have not checked out said literature but I will put it on my list.

    I’m glad you like it Crommo. I was wondering where you were at with poetry. Keep in mind though, you did devote am entire blog to my ‘Freddie the Fly’ poem…

  4. Mmmmmmm. This reaches into the coeners of my soul! Beautiful!

  5. Wendell Berry sounds like a cereal tycoon.

    “New, from Wendell Berry! Part of this complete breakfast.”

  6. Nice.

  7. Oh, so poetry is okay on JULIAN’S blog, just not Crommo’s, is that it Suzy?? Yeah NICE.

  8. OK kids, it’s all getting a bit lairy. Just settle down.

  9. Of course it is, Sheri. Julian’s a gentleman. It’s understandable that such a gentleman would enjoy good poetry. A man of Crompton’s ilk is much more likely to enjoy things of a vulgar nature. Ale, nude renderings of scantily clad serving wenches, and so forth.

    And we all know you’re only defending him because you LOVE him so much! Oooh! LOVERS! Sheri and Crommo sitting in a tree, K-I-S-S-I-N-G.

  10. You wanna dance, Ms Inflammatory Pants-Face?? How about I take your mother out for a nice seafood dinner, and never call her again!?

    Nah, I’m kidding. What I am going to do is heed Julian’s kind request, for this is his blog, and that’s what respectful & courteous people do. My apologies Jules!

    As for you Suz, I’ll deal w/ you after class! 3:30pm at the park, BE THERE! ‘Cause “someone’s” gettin’ an old school beat down! (*cracks knuckles)

  11. I think Jules should update his awesome blog.

  12. I did! And not because of you!

Leave a Reply

 
