DunkaRoos

Dunkaroos were one of my favourite treats as a kid. They disappeared off the shelves many years ago and I’ve often pondered how awesome they were and longed for their return. When I was wandering the aisles of my local IGA I noticed a box of dunkaroos in the misc/other section. Luckily, my housemate was with me so my outburst didn’t make me look like too much of a weirdo. I thought to myself ‘What do you do when you find some nostalgic or otherwise interesting item of food? Write an Oberts-style food blog!’

Being an IGA, I was wondering if the box was a leftover from 1995 but the hip fonts and nutrition (or lack thereof) information confirmed that it was a re-release of the classic snack.

I ripped open the box with glee and grabbed one of the six individual packs. I slowly peeled back the lid and had a look at the bounty within.

It was a warm day so the choc hazelnut dip was a bit on the runny side but otherwise it looked like absolute joy.Β  I grabbed one of the roo-shaped biscuits and dipped it into the dip.

As for the taste, I have to say I was a bit disappointed. It was just a kangaroo shaped tiny teddy dipped in nutella. Not only that, the choc hazelnut dips in the other packets were a bit watery and had to be mixed before optimal dipping could occur. These weren’t the dunkaroos I remembered. The originals weren’t just regular biscuits, they had some kind of magical, nutty, crunchy stuff mixed in… or something on them… or maybe there was another crunchy dip as a second dip… Anyway, after receiving an invite to be a fan of the classic icecream, Bubble-O-Bill, on Facebook I checked to see if they had any dunkaroo support groups. They had many, with many members. Some were ‘Dunkaroos are awesome’, some were ‘Bring back Dunkaroos’ so it’s a little confusing. Do I sit with the people who think they’re great and maybe know they’re back? Or do I sit with the people who just want them back? Not just the new dunkaroos, they want the old days back. The days where you could ride your bike 5km down the street and no one thought twice. You’d get home from school and Mum’d make you eat a piece of fruit, then you’d get to eat something nice. Then there’d be something like Captain Planet, Ducktales, Darkwing Duck or The Gummi Bears on the old CRT analog telly. You’d have to ask, ‘may I please leave the table?’ after you’d finished your dinner. You could forget about computer games during the week, they were only for the weekend after you’d practiced your piano. You were only allowed 30 minutes but if you were clever you could play a multiplayer with a sibling and pool your time… I’ll tell you what I’ll do, I’m not going to join any of the groups because I hate Facebook and because these Dunkaroos really let me down 😦

~ by Hooly on February 18, 2009.

13 Responses to “DunkaRoos”

  1. Good blog. Reminds me of the good old days when Oberts used to blog. Perhaps I’ll create a Facebook group; “Bring back Oberts”

  2. I was totally in love with the vanilla Dunkaroos. That stuff was sugary, creamy white gold. And you’re right, Jules, they DID used to have that crunchety goodness section. Back in the good ol’ days, you’d get half as much of the watery-crap nutella stuff you got these days and the other half of the container had the crunchety goodness section. And you’d dip the Dunkaroo biscuit in the nutella (or vanilla in my case) stuff then in the crunchety goodness section! WHAT’S GOING ON IN THE WORLD!

    I believe they also had strawberry flavour but I never cared much for that one.

  3. VANILLA DUNKAROOOOOOOOOOOSS!!!!!!!!!!! OMFG!!!!! I REMEMBER THEM!!!!!! THEY WERE THE BESTEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    And Blobs I’m all for that Facegroup group.

  4. My early childhood, prior to high school, was weird. I was banned from the Simpsons, never had any computer games and definitely no console games. My entertainment was 99% from within my own head, which is why I’m such a reclusive retard now with no more than 2 real friends. It’s no surprise to me, then, at I have no memory of DunkaRoos whatsoever. But I did like your sentences of nostalgia pertaining to asking to leave the table, riding of bikes, etc. Noice. Incidentally, I’m getting back into the bike thing. It’s really good around inner melbourne. You should move here, get a bike, and go riding with me. One of my two friends I referred to earlier, Ed, and myself went bike riding at midnight with out lights and helmets. It was liberating. I might do it again soon. And I hate facebook.

  5. Also, Julian, not to sound rude, but I don’t think you used quite enough exclamation marks in your comment. Seriously though, I well used fullstop. Is. Un. Beatable.

    .

    Ha ha.

  6. I meant to say A well used fullstop. Is. Un. Beatable.

  7. Chin up, Crommo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sorry but I had to edit one of your earlier comments to keep it family-friendly πŸ˜›

    Bikes are grand though. I’ve been fanging my ‘verge bike’ (don’t ask) to the servo every now and then (of an evening). It’s super fun!

  8. You said VERGE!!!

    You’ve been Perth-ised by me. About time, hey?

    Mum never used to let me have Dunkaroos in my school lunchbox, or as an after school treat. I used to have fruit and crackers with vegemite and butter on them. Maybe I’d get a chocolate every now and then…

    Do you remember roll-ups? Man, they were the bomb shiz! I hardly ever had those either, but I remember totally loving them!

    I’m impressed Hooly, two blog entries in one month!!! What’s going on?!

  9. Mel, I’ve being saying verge for ages. But it does roll off the tongue naturally these days. As does all the nicknames for suburbs, etc. as well as the Perth colloquialisms. I guess I’m a sandgroper through and through now…

    Yeah we never got Dunkaroos or other treat stuff that often. Roll-ups were tasty, but I tended to opt for a muesli bar or something as a recess snack because it actually provided some sustenance to a hungry boy and didn’t feel like it was ripping my teeth out.

    I have been blogging, but I’ve been making them private so y’all can’t view them. I thought I’d share these things with y’all though. I’ve even got another one in the works!

  10. You couldn’t also edit my comment with a mistake in it for me? Or do you draw the line at that? It’s hard to know where to draw the line. Family-friendliness is one thing. (I don’t even remember what I said). But yeah, should one correct mistakes in comments?

    I remember going through a stage where I’d tweak people’s comments on my blog, publicly and proudly, if they said something I didn’t like. I felt powerful. I believe I made Ed say “I’m a stupid git” or something like that. I felt like God of my own domain. Ha ha.

    Now I’m grown up.

  11. Yeah I draw the line at that. It was only a little typo by you, people are understanding of that. I try to avoid doing exactly what you just said πŸ™‚ So the only thing I do is remove obscenities. I think I’ve only had to do it twice though.

  12. re the computer rules
    Aren’t you guys the better for it πŸ™‚
    remember this was when you were quite young and impressionable.

  13. The only rule I remember was that we had to go to bed at 8. Except for Tuesdays when we could stay up till 8:30 and watch Full House.

    That rule disappeared when I was about 10.

    Then the only rule we had was….actually, I don’t think we had any rules.

    I just used to get tired and fall asleep on the floor at about 2am.

    I wish someone was around to tell me to go to sleep these days.

    Widget, Rugrats, Rodger Ramjet, Degrassi High (Although I never watched that), A*Mazing (remember the Super Nintendo finale with the Gnat Attack)…(Oh and James Sherry), Captain Planet, Ummmmm, Rocko’s Modern Life, Warner Bros Shiz (Animaniacs, Pinky & The Brain, Tiny Toons + Merrie Melodies)

    The list goes on.

    Memories.

Leave a Reply

 
